Nowadays, as part of education process, student work at a company for a short periode of time without pay. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

With the growing demand for skilled professionals, the rise of unpaid internships for students has sparked discussion about its benefits and drawbacks. While this trend certainly offers some advantages, there are also considerable disadvantages that I will examine in this essay.

One clear advantage is the practical skill that the students gained after finishing their contract, which contributes to the development of their skills that are directly related to the industry needs. For instance, employers will always value someone with more work experience than those who are not, thereby enhancing the possibilities for higher-paying jobs in the future. In addition, interning, even without pay, can expand their professional networks, which often results in access to valuable resources that can assist students to achieve their goals.

However, there are also significant drawbacks, the most notable being the financial burden. Working without payments seems to be exploitative in this economic uncertainty, students will face challenges to meet their daily expenses, such as transportation and foods, which make them reliant on their parents financial support whereas they should be helping with the family’s economy. Furthermore, misuse of authority tends to arise, companies often take advantage of young workers by assigning them tasks that are not relevant to their job description and field of study. To illustrate, Someone with a public administration background might be given a task to make promotion contents for companies’ social media, shifting their work focus away from their expertise.

To conclude, although unpaid work provides certain benefits such as skills enhancement and networking, its financial damage and probability of abuse of power cannot be overlooked.