Nowadays, as part of education process, student work at a company for a short periode of time without pay. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

At present, as a part of tertiary education, students perform internships without pay. As far as my views are concerned, this trend has more demerits as compared to the merits which are mentioned in the upcoming paragraphs.

To initiate, there are various demerits of internship. The cardinal point to be considered is, unpaid work is financially challenging for the pupils. To elaborate it, some educators come from lower income backgrounds, so they aren’t able to bear their expenses. For these candidates, dedicated weeks or a month working without payment might be impossible. As a result, it causes inequality and brings limitations. Additionally, several institutions force scholars to spend extra hours. To justify this, employees make interns do their duty and assigned repetitive tasks, such as filling documents or making tea, rather than providing meaningful work experience.

Apart from this, the learner could miss paid jobs or freelance opportunities. To make it more precise, corporate may prefer attendees who have paid experience and relevant skills. Nevertheless, an apprenticeship can give them the possibility to secure a job and also help in deciding the career of their choice. For instance, a few organizations take interns as an inhouse workforce who show their better performance, professionalism and problem – solving ability.

To conclude, although there is a blessing of on-the-job training, such as an opportunity to become a permanent team member, the cons of this trend dominate its pros in the form of economic challenges and waste of time, meaning less duties.