Nowadays because of digital technology, it is possible for not only studios but also individuals to produce their films. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that technological advances in the film industry have enabled individuals to make their own films. I believe that this trend is a very positive one.

Firstly, we need to factor in the viewing options that the brought forth development offers viewers. When making films was a reserve for only film companies, film-lovers were restricted to several films on TV and had to go to the cinema to indulge in their hobby. Nowadays, the proliferation of sitcoms, short films and parodies made by amateur film producers on social media sites like Facebook and YouTube allows internet users to watch as much as they wish. In addition, the increasing popularity of these works can certainly be monetized in the form of advertising for certain products. This possibility encourages people of all ages to dabble in acting and movie-directing and reduces monetary concerns, which are notoriously associated with these careers.

To add further credence to my assertion, I note the fact that being allowed to make their own films, film creators can now express their creativity and ideas beyond conventional limits and without being artistically judged by so-called professionals. As arts are purely subjective, this will be a step forward in the filmmaking industry. For example, with only an Ipad and a simple movie editing software, 1977 Vlog, a group of young creative producers, made parodies of famous Vietnamese pieces of literature to voice their opinion about problems in their community. Despite being ridiculed based on the standards contemporarily applied in the film industry, their works have quickly gained popularity, challenged the status quo and revolutionized the way films are generally perceived and made.

In conclusion, the fact that individuals can now produce their own films is a welcome development because it benefits movie-lovers, movie creators and the movie industry as a whole.