Nowadays, celebrities are more known for their glamour and wealth ( sự quyến rũ và giàu có) than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that celebrities are more famous for their charm and wealth than for their achievements. Personally, I partially disagree with statements for several reasons.

Firstly, it is undeniable that famous people, especially those who work in the entertainment area often own glamourous looks which are conditions to maintain their positions and develop in this chosen field. Thus, celebrities not only make use their innate attractive appearances but also pay more attention to upgrade them to leave good impression and images for the fans. Furthermore, it is often claimed that celebrities are often famous for their wealth, which is also true in certain circumstances. For example, stars in film making industry can make a lot of money after a few show, and become billionaires. It is not difficult to find famous actors or actresses in this billion dollar business. The name Tom Hollan and Tom Cruise can be included in the list of examples.

However, I would argue that celebrities’ achievements are as famous as their beauty and richness. Let’s take Son Tung MTP singer, whose pop hit is named Lac Troi, is a telling example. Many fans admire him for both his handsome look and his talent, which attract worldwide audience. On the contrary, there are people who are given credit for their achievements rather than their appearances. Bill Gate and Messi are two striking models who are all rich and famous for their huge contributions to technological advancements and football respectively, but their glamour. Meanwhile, there are also famous people who gain recognition for both their looks and achievements. Thuy Tien – a miss in the international grand competition organized in Thailand – was not born in a well – to – do family, but she won the first price and became the miss international grand for her abilities including language competences and communication. After conquering this crown, she continues doing normal daily work such as shipper and florist to help her mon besides taking part in showbiz. All these people leave a good impression and set a good example for many people to follow.

In conclusion, it is true in some cases that celebrities are often more famous because of their appearance and wealth than achievement. I, however, also believe that not only achievement but also their charm and richness are equal in their gaining recognition, and they make good impression on the young.