Nowadays children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some people think that these activities are not good for child's mental health. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, kids are able to watch televisions and play video games for a long period of time. Hence, this has sparked disputations about their mental well-being. From my perspective, drawbacks arising from such a phenomenon far outweigh its merits.

On the one hand, I am persuaded that having technological devices to watch and play on is beneficial. To elaborate, not only could children entertain themselves, but also learn from doing such. For instance, Vietnam has recently eliminated and banned inappropriate channels, making way for educational purposes cartoons. This could teach kids indirectly and effectively at an early age, in lieu of enforcing mundane studying methods. Besides, these activities also provide entertainments and experience for youngsters who are snowed under with homework and exams, having limited amount of leisure time.

On the other hand, such conveniences go along with severals drawbacks. To be more specific, sitting and staring at the screen for such a long time could provoke some health problems such as short-sighted or even haemorrhoids. Mentally speaking, despite the goverments’ innovation, there has been no legitimate research about the efficiency of such endeavor in TV education. Nonetheless, many scientists have indicated that adverse circumstances have been witnessed in many areas, in which children are effected by violent and sexual scenes on the televisions and video games. For example, many spontaneous discharges in the America are recorded to be influenced by violent video games.

In conclusion, even though TVs and video games are beneficial in some situations, they could impact negatively to children’s mental health, therefore should be limited and put under parents’ observation.