Nowadays children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some people think that these activities are not good for child's mental health. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

One of the major changes with today’s younger generation is how children choose to spend their free time. With recent advancements in technology and a rise in creative digital entertainment, society seldom witnesses youths playing together outdoors. Many people object to this development as excessive use of digital entertainment can harm a child’s development; however, I believe that television and video games can be beneficial to children to a certain extent.

First and foremost, after a rise in pandemics and social unrest in recent years, many parents are understandably reluctant to allow their children to play and explore outside the confines of their home. As a result, children are left with nothing else to focus on except their televisions and video games. While excessive and unmonitored use of digital media such as YouTube and video games can be physically and mentally detrimental, it can still be controlled by parents to develop their child’s cognitive skills. For example, rather than simply turning on whatever channel is available, parents could select interactive and educational channels for children to watch. This not only helps children’s minds to flourish but also prevents them from stumbling across inappropriate and dangerous videos.

Secondly, despite the argument that games and TV often hinder physical activity, video games and television channels can promote and encourage physical activity indoors. This was demonstrated by video games such as Wii-Fit and Just Dance, which are both fun and physically engaging.

Conversely, despite the benefits of digital entertainment, staying indoors all day glued to a screen is unhealthy and harms the body and mind. Children who only spend their early years and adolescence in their rooms may not be as socially adept as those who actively engage with real people in person. Additionally, no amount of developed technology can replace the unique benefits of outdoor play in shaping children’s imagination and minds.

In conclusion, while excessive use of digital entertainment can be detrimental, careful and proper use of television and video games can still benefit children’s development. Parents play a major role in monitoring what and how their children spend time online or on screen. Educational channels are free for all households to access, regardless of socioeconomic status, allowing everyone to use their digital screens productively.