Nowadays children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time being active or creative. What is the reason for this? What measures should be taken to encourage children to be more active?

It is true that at present we are confronting a huge increase in the inactivity of children and a rise in hours spent watching TV by children. In this essay, I will explore why this occurs and how the phenomenon can be seized.

To commence with, the primary reason for the situation is availability and easy access to entertainment on TV. These days more and more TV programs are providing appealing content through cartoons, shows, and advertisements, so infants can not manage themselves. Subsequently, they are forced to live in sedentary lifestyle. For example, “Disney” produces extremely colorful and fabulous content that grabs one’s attention, no sooner is the first spot taken. Another major cause can be access to quick transportation. Since several improvements made in transport systems in societies, many infants have been commuting to schools and other destinations by bus or subway, instead of taking a walk or cycling. This resulted in the creation of a sedentary lifestyle for children. A great example is that in Africa, as they lack sustainable transportation, children are forced to walk to schools, even several kilometers, this shortage is associated with African children being considered as active throughout the day.

Regarding the solutions to the issue, when it comes to the impact TV shows have on adolescents’ well-being, some restrictions should be enforced to filter content and allow not only accurate one, but sometimes a little tedious as well, which might make a child feel dull and seek another activity: going outside and play outdoor games. As long as teenagers are under the control of their parents, not only should they be prohibited from binge-watching, but need to be encouraged to do more physical exercises including attending sports sessions — football, basketball, volleyball, and so on. Repeated over a course of time, the activity can turn into a habit being at the same time useful and keeping in motion.

In conclusion, it is a fact that children are becoming less active and obsessed with TV. In my opinion, steps to overcome the situation should be taken immediately, until it is too late.