Nowadays children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time being active or creative. What is the reason for this? What measures should be taken to encourage children to be more active?

As a result of rapid technological advancements in recent years, it has become more common than ever for children to put a vast amount of time into watching TV programs in preference to gaining productivity. While there are some seemingly unavoidable causes, such as technological growth and a lack of outdoor spaces, for this problem, they could be addressed by both parents and governments by taking proper actions.

Undoubtedly, there are several obvious causes resulting in children spending more time watching television and less time being active, one of which is that the rise of technology, like television services, has made it easier for children to access engaging content anytime. This is because the platforms are often designed to manipulate and attract many youngsters. This means that children are likely to devote much time to viewing TV programs, such as cartoons and films, because of their attractiveness. Another reason children are less active and creative is that there are not enough places, particularly in urban areas, for outdoor activities. For instance, people’s children who live in the capital city, Tashkent, in Uzbekistan, are struggling to play outdoor games like football and basketball. They can be obliged to watch TV for entertainment as a result.

Nevertheless, certain actions could be taken to tackle the previously mentioned problems. From a governmental perspective, this can be solved by organizing sports events, nature walks, or outdoor games; children can be encouraged to engage in physical play. This not only improves their physical health but also helps them develop social skills and creativity through interaction with others. Another solution for this is that government and local authorities should create more safe and accessible recreational areas. For example, playgrounds and sports facilities in neighborhoods, especially in cities and small towns, can provide children with spaces to play and explore. As a consequence, they can learn how to bond relationships and enhance their study productivity without any challenges. Therefore, not only can a growing number of parks and playgrounds lead children to avoid watching television, but they also give children numerous opportunities to dedicate much time to studying and their families.

In conclusion, however threatening the problems are and however unavoidable the reasons are, they can be resolved, or at least lessened, by taking all the necessary steps to mitigate the issues.