Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, international tourism has contributed significantly to the economic development of every nation. However, it is believed that the industry triggers more tension than understanding between individuals from diverse cultural backgrounds. Personally, I strongly agree with this idea and in this essay I will support my view with examples.

Granted, travelling overseas can contribute to a deeper understanding between tourists and the locals. This is because being exposed to local customs and cultural traditions enables visitors to gain a better understanding of the other culture, fostering an appreciation of diversity. As a result, this may help erase initial stereotypes and misconceptions, promoting global integration.

However, I would argue that travelling abroad does more harm than good regarding mutual understanding between travellers and local people. One primary reason is that tourists may meet with disapproval from local residents. This is due to the cultural differences and tourists’ lack of preparation before visiting another nation. For example, public display of affection is often regarded as normal and acceptable, however, some individuals from Asian countries perceive this practice as rude and inappropriate. Therefore, cultural clashes may give rise to conflicts and frustration between people from different cultures.

In addition, it takes time, efforts, experiences to understand the culture of one area. Hence, tourists, who only stay in the region for a short period, may struggle to communicate with the locals and find it difficult to adapt to the culture. Local street vendors may take advantage of visitors’ inexperience and sell things at an exorbitant price to make more profits. Consequently, this action is likely to leave a bad impression on the tourists, making them hold prejudice against the locals.

In conclusion, given the cultural clashes between citizens from various regions and dishonest practices from the locals, I strongly believe that international tourism brings more tension than understanding between people from different parts of the world.