Nowadays many families move abroad for work. Some people believe that this benefits the children in these families. Others believe that it makes their lives more difficult. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Families moving abroad for work or business purposes are a common scene these days. However, the children in these families may reflect on this change in different ways.

Children in such a dilemma might face advantages or disadvantages. On one hand, exposure to new and different cultures and climates may make one feel enthusiastic and excited. Studies have shown children become extremely curious when faced with the unknown. The different languages one might take a liking to, the new cuisine, the new seasons in the air, and the new sort of people the children will get to interact with, fill one to the brim with excitement.

Furthermore, the randomness of a sudden change in a child’s lifestyle will encourage them to adapt. The best way to learn and grow as a person is certainly to be put on the spot. Toughness builds character and in the long run, moving to a different country with your family will build mental resilience and adaptability. In a survey, it was found out that most foreign students had a higher IQ and processing capability, proving that when forced to adapt to an environment, a child may thrive.

But on the other hand, this sudden lifestyle change may scar a child. At one’s growing age, introduction to a completely new country may be hard to take in. In a foreign environment, socializing can be extremely tough. Instances have shown that when children become antisocial at a young age, they stay like that until adulthood. Not only that, leaving friends and relatives behind to suddenly be in a new school in a whole different country may seem unnecessary to a child. It is a frightening concept since children are not expected to deal with adult-like problems.

However, exploring life in another country is a child’s wildest dream; getting comfortable sure may take time but the benefits of viewing the world from a different perspective are priceless. The creative and social benefits would have a long-lasting positive effect on the child. In my opinion, the benefits of such a situation greatly outweigh the problems one may face.