Nowadays, many parents encourage their children's independence from an early age. Do the advantages of this mat outweigh its disadvantages?

In this day and age, there is a public debate that children’s autonomy should be advocated by their parents from a young age, believing that this approach can have various benefits for their development. From my point of view, I firmly believe that the demerits of this initiative overshadow its merits.

On the one hand, there are some compelling reasons why parents should encourage children to become self-reliant. First, it is undeniable that promoting children’s independence during early ages can help them acquire soft skills and abilities, which can be beneficial in the long run. These children may be provided the opportunities to be capable of handling fundamental tasks effectively in life. For example, allowing children to participate in house chores enables them to learn how to cook, do laundry, etc, and manage different tasks on their own. Second, granting children permission to make their own decisions and take responsibility for their actions can give them a sense of independence. When children decide for themselves, they have to take ownership of their actions and take on any repercussions and thus fostering their self-efficacy and esteem.

On the other hand, some contend that boosting kids to be self-sufficient could expose them to being involved in many issues. To begin with, children may be prone to following a path of delinquency or disadvantages when being given freedom. Independence allows children to learn to control themselves and form their judgment, which could influence them. Consequently, without supervision and guidance from parents, children might easily follow some temptations and social evils: vape, for example, is used by some teenagers who live autonomously during the young ages. Furthermore, this promotion may lead to a lack of parental care since when parents remain uninvolved and permit their kids to do whatever they want, they may think parents aren’t concerned about them. Hence, children may suffer from feelings of insecurity, anxiety, unfulfilling love, peer jealousy, and even depression. To illustrate, a child who must work on their own to make their living may become envious of a child receiving support from parents.

In conclusion, although there are concerns associated with the positive effects of promoting children’s independence, the disadvantages of fostering them to be self-sufficient seem far more important.