nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? what could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent years, self-employment has become a popular phenomenon, with an increasing number of individuals preferring not to work for a particular employer and in turn, become more independent. Nevertheless, it is important not to overlook potential drawback such an activity brings.

It is true that in recent years, many employees started desiring to become their own boss instead of following others’ rules. For instance, self-employment in the US has seen a significant growth, especially past-pandemic. That is mainly due to the opportunities such a preference provides. To be specific, self-employed employees can make their own decisions and choose working hours rather than having to work according to the office hours. As a result, workers can feel more freedom and experience independency.

However, the potential drawbacks of self-employment can be significant, with unstable income being the most significant one. Independent work does not always guarantee long-term success, meaning that potential failure might leave workers with financial difficulties. Content creators’ accounts, for example, might get banned by platforms, leaving them with no stable income. Additionally, missing out on employee benefits can be a noticeable drawback. Organizations and companies often provide their workers with pensions and healthcare insurance, which cannot be guaranteed for self-employed person.

In conclusion, independent working is universally popular due to people’s preferences. Although this priority can contribute to the level of independency, potential drawbacks such as financial difficulties and no employee benefits cannot be neglected.