Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Insomnia has been rapidly increasing in recent years, with many people across the globe experiencing hindrances to healthy sleep. One of the most significant current discussions in legal and moral philosophy revolves around insomnia. Therefore, this essay critically examines the predominant effects caused by the lack of sleep and suggests preventive measures to overcome this widespread issue.

To begin with, insomnia is a common disorder that affects one in every three people nowadays. Undoubtedly, serious health problems, including hypertension, depression, anxiety, and obesity, are caused by the lack of sleep among both young and old individuals extensively. For instance, a survey conducted by the American Sociological and Psychological Department in 2023 explored multiple factors, most importantly insomnia, contributing to anxiety and depression. Moreover, people who suffer from irregular sleep tend to face hurdles and show less productivity especially at their workplace. For example, 70% of the employees in the Systems Software House reported not being promoted due to their lack of performance. Hence, seldom or no sleeping habits negatively impact the health and physical activities.

Despite this, to combat the negative effects of sleep deprivation and ensure adequate sleep, several strategies can be employed. Firstly, a proper sleep schedule and balanced working hours need to be implemented in one’s routine. According to statistics shared by the Japan Healthcare Department, 75% of people are fully satisfied with their work-sleep balance and are more enthusiastic about their work. Secondly, physical exercise plays a crucial role in maintaining social and physical well-being; however, over the last century, three quarters of all youngsters have responded “No” to questions being asked regarding any physical activity, including gym workouts, walking, and sports. Thus, incorporating regular physical exercise and actively monitoring a balanced work-sleep routine could lead to a healthier lifestyle.

To put it in a nutshell, insomnia can cause severe health issues among people massively; however, there are steps that individuals and organizations can take to mitigate its effects.