Nowadays, more and more children play computer games. Why do you think this is the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

Many adults today would rather play computers games than do other activities to kill their free time. Hence, in this essay I will give a reasonable answer to the question of why they do this as well as why this is negative development in the upcoming fragments.

Initiating with the reasons why they prefer to play computer games in their leisure time is that computer games can provide the same thrill and excitement as we are experiencing in outdoor games. Moreover, computers are now regular households which each family has. So, it is quite obvious that playing games on computers is convenient for almost everyone and everyone would be bothered to do other activities which cost money, time and effort while they can have the same fun by playing games. For example, although it is available to play baseball which would need a pitch, most people would end up playing a virtual baseball game on their computer.

In this case, this is a negative development, though this is the sign of the fast-paced development of technology. Since computer draws people away from proper communication and relationship, this could lead to the negative impact. For instance, people could have spent their free time in a warm chit chat with their loved ones, and this chit chat makes people closer instead of playing games in front of the small screen alone. Besides, it can deteriorate the eyesight because of the ultralight from the screen. Furthermore, computer games occupying all of the free moments can make one stray away from self-development. In other words, the public should spend their time not only just for fun but also on something worthwhile. The best example of this would be people reading fewer books and playing more games.

To conclude, the computers games are too convenient that they make people forget to give time to their family and self-progresses. Thus, most people spending free time on computer games is a negative development.