Nowadays, more and more people are choosing to use private cars instead of public transport. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages ?

Nowadays, using cars has become increasingly popular. Although I think it has several downsides such as environmental damage, I strongly believe that its advantages can outweigh its disadvantages.

On the one hand, overusing private cars can harm the environment. Like other forms of transport, cars produce a toxic gas called CO2, causing serious problems for the ozone layer, which helps the Earth maintain its climate. As a result, it may lead to climate change which may cause several challenges for the Earth’s population. In addition, an enormous number of cars causes traffic jams. Even a 5-minute journey could take hours. For example, in cities such as New York and Tokyo, people struggle to go to and come from work. It might make them stressed and anxious.

On the other hand, there are many reasons why people prefer using their own cars. Firstly, it is easy and convenient to use. If you have a car, you will not need to wait for a bus, which is time-consuming. That is why people prefer it; they can go from one destination to another without waiting or difficulties. Secondly, personal car may give you comfort, while travelling compared to the public transport. For instance, you can read your favorite books, listen to music, do your hobby or homework without distraction. Furthermore, it helps big families travel together and enjoy the journey. Also, it is convenient for families with a sick or an elderly member due to facilities.

In conclusion, having a private car may lead to several environmental problems. However, I strongly believe that its benefits like comfort and accessibility can easily outshine its drawbacks.