Nowadays, more people move away from their friends and families for work. Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, more and more individuals have wanted to improve their career paths by living far from their friends and relatives. I believe family separation allows them to enhance their social life and develop personal growth. As such, its benefits are more evident than the drawbacks.

The first and foremost advantage of living far from families and friends for work is the opportunity to widen their social network. Relocating means post-graduate students must learn to establish their relationships with their neighbours and colleagues who share the same hobbies as them. In addition, living independently means they must learn to socialise with other individuals, which fosters a more diverse and vibrant social life.

Another crucial benefit of moving away from their home is a must for their personal development. Adults must address their challenges without help from their loved ones, enabling them to be more self-disciplined and independent to navigate obstacles by themselves. In contrast, people who live with their parents are most likely to rely on support from their families, which restricts their possibility of standing on their own two feet.

For example, people who have the chance to study abroad or live far from their families and peers are more impressive in the eyes of employers, according to a recent survey conducted by a top consulting firm, KPMG. This results from their self-discipline, excellent communication, and high responsibility at work, which create their competitive advantage in the labour market.

In conclusion, the advantages of moving away from loved ones for work outweigh the disadvantages. Expanding social circles and sharpening soft skills create more opportunities for adults for their career path and their lives.