Nowadays, more people move away from their friends and families for work. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

As our world becomes increasingly globalized, individuals are now more willing and able to find employment opportunities far from their birthplaces than at any other point in our history. Although this trend has certain drawbacks, I believe the advantages are greater.

Several downsides associated with the mobility of labor are clear. The most obvious one is the separation of families and friends. To explain, people who move to another country for work may not be able to come home often to visit their relatives. Strong friendships can also fade if friends do not meet regularly. For example, Egyptians who live and work in the UAE usually have one month annually to see their friends and families. Thus, those who move and those who stay become lonely. From an economic perspective, local companies may suffer from a lack of experienced labor. If too many people choose to work abroad, local businesses will deteriorate. Although all these disadvantages must be acknowledged, in most cases, they are outweighed by the financial benefits of working away.

Today, people from less-developed regions or areas can relocate to more prosperous cities or countries with higher salaries and better career opportunities. Although perhaps lonelier, those individuals can improve their own standard of living as well as that of their families back home, to whom they usually send money. A prominent example can be seen in the Gulf countries, where many expatriates send family expenses on a monthly basis. In addition, many can help develop their home region. After working away for several years, some will return home. With savings and new skills, they may then be able to establish new businesses or find jobs they could not get before. Thus, what can be said is that relocating for work can help people improve their own financial situation as well as contribute to the development of their homeland.

In conclusion, for many people, the ability to move within national boards or abroad to find better career opportunities is an enormous advantage because, in most cases, it leads to more economic prosperity. Although they may have to leave people they are close to, and their absence can make it harder for companies in their home regions to find employees, I still believe that the advantages of this trend are far more significant than its drawbacks.