Nowadays, more tasks at home and at work are being performed by robots. Is this a negative or positive development?

Amid the rapid advancements of today’s time, the development of robotics and artificial intelligence has drawn people’s attention from all fields. There are fierce controversies surrounding its impacts on human life. It is considered by some people that robots have positive effect on our future development while the others think they are hazardous and may make human beings get into trouble. This essay will provide insights on both sides depending on their impacts at home and at work.

In working context, automation and robotic systems increase efficiency and productivity. Thanks to its fast-response ability and precision, repetitive tasks now can be undertaken automatically by robots, which is considered as the catalyst in outperforming monotonous tasks with high accuracy and streamlining human’s workload. At home, integration technology into tackling daily chores has become a norm paralleling the fast development of technological breakthroughs, which leads to improvement in life’s quality. By having these robots do the chores, human beings have time for multitude of activities in maintaining personal well-being

While the integration of robotics undoubtedly makes improvement on efficiency and productivity, it also raises unending concerns about job displacement and over-dependence, whether at home or at work. As robotic systems take over certain tasks, workloads have declined; hence, despite having artificial intelligence’s support, today’s visceral life has gradually got even worse. For instance, a term called “jobless unemployed” currently has become popular among Gen-Z generation. This depicts a context at work where employees don’t need to complete their tasks with frantic effort due to AI tools, which results in the lack of abilities to maintain critical over the time. That is also a wake-up call for workers to continue to reskill and up-skill to undertake new roles and responsibilities.

In conclusion, as society progresses, robots are crucial for future development of mankind. Although they may cause many risks to our society, their benefits prevail over their drawbacks if they are utilized properly.