Nowadays, more tasks at home and at work are being performed by robots. Is this a negative or positive development?

In today’s world, robots are in charge of many tasks both at home and work. I firmly believe that this is a positive development, bringing distinct benefits including stronger relationships. This essay will explore both sides and provide compelling reasons for my personal view.

One might say that the increasing use of robots in certain tasks can lead to job losses in the near future. If technology continues to develop, with smart machines accomplishing tasks usually done by human workers, many people may become unemployed. By way of example, these days most cars are made with the use of automatic machines in factories, leaving little to no need for human labor there. Furthermore, if daily tasks such as mowing and cleaning are done by robots, individuals may start to lead a sedentary life. This lack of activity, in turn, results in some serious health problems, such as obesity due to reduced metabolism. Thus, this phenomenon might have negative consequences.

These arguments notwithstanding, my view is that robots can be a valuable asset to society. As people now have fewer responsibilities, they can lead a more meaningful life, such as by reading books, writing articles and hanging out with friends. All of these help individuals make their lives more fulfilling and enjoyable. Moreover, this recent change considerably strengthens relationships among people by providing more free time again. It’s clear that due to a hectic lifestyle, many struggle to keep their bonds with family and friends. However, with the rising use of robots in everyday tasks that offer people more leisure time, now it’s easier to have family gatherings. Therefore, robots can be highly advantageous to the community.

In summary, while robots performing daily tasks may have some drawbacks, including job losses and a sedentary lifestyle, they have remarkable benefits such as better relationships and a more meaningful life people can lead. With the unprecedented opportunities it provides, this rising use of robots remains a positive trend.