Nowadays, more tasks at home and at work are being performed by robots. Is this a negative or positive development?

With significant technological developments in recent years, particularly in the field of robotics and Al, independent machines have become more prevalent in our lives, performing an increasing range of tasks. In my opinion, this trend should be regarded as both beneficial and detrimental in equal measure.

Admittedly, the introduction of robots into our lives does have some merits. The first one would be their efficiency, because unlike humans, they don’t get tired or require food and sleep to function effectively. In factories, for example, this attribute of robots can lead to increased output and sales, thus benefitting owners greatly. Another advantage of robots taking over human tasks is convenience they offer. Tesla vehicles, for instance, can be programmed to reach destinations autonomously, thereby enhancing overall driving experience. As a result, a mundane task of driving can be turned into a pleasurable experience free from fatigue and sleeplessness.

Nevertheless, this development also has several negative effects. An increasing reliance on robots can exacerbate the issue of unemployment. A large number of waiters in Japan and China, for instance, have recently become redundant when their employers shifted to robot alternatives, which managed to become ideal substitutes for humans. Therefore, a higher rate of unemployment makes livelihood challenging for some people and possibly be a root cause of more serious issues in society, such as crime. Moreover, robots are not infallible, because humans, who are prone to making mistakes, created them. This, in turn, means that such machines can even pose a threat to human life in critical situations. For example, there have been many traffic incidents because of using the autopilot mode while driving, leading to injuries and even death.

In conclusion, although robots are substituting humans in more and more tasks nowadays, serving to improve efficiency and convenience, their downsides like a higher rate of unemployment as well as the tendency to make mistakes should not be overlooked. Hence, my own feeling is that this development is a double-edged sword.