Nowadays, most countries can improve the standard of living through economic development, but some social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of this phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages?

Many nations focus on developing economic sectors in order to improve the citizen’s living standard. While doing so, several essential values in the society can be lost. In my opinion, the disadvantages of economic enhancement far outweigh its advantages. This is because regardless of the good living standard that a booming economy can offer, if moral values are not preserved, the safety of people will not be ensured.

A thriving economy can undoubtedly lead to an improvement in people’s lives. This is because developed nations, such as the USA, will have a lucrative budget to upgrade and invent new technologies, allowing their citizens to enjoy the best educational systems, healthcare and other services. Meanwhile, countries, with a less-developed economy such as Vietnam, would not have enough money to make such improvements. Take Covid-19 vaccinations, for example. The USA was among the earliest countries to produce these vaccines and supply to other nations around the world, including Vietnam. In other words, the growing economy allows the USA and other developed countries to provide the best for their residents.

Notwithstanding aforementioned advantages, economic development also attributes to the loss in essential ethical standards, which, in turn, endangers people’s safety. The economic blossom gives rise to increased living cost and other fees. As a result, residents are now aiming to earn a living to afford national services rather to build connections with their neighbors. Consequently, people could become more ignorant towards one another and refuse to help others in emergency but helping one another is one of the core moral values. For example, if someone fainted in Vietnam, the locals would immediately call an ambulance, whereas the Americans would be more reluctant to do so because they do not think it is their job to help. This also means that it is less safe to live in those countries since you are unlikely to get help from other people.

In conclusion, to make the residents’ life better, developing the economy is one approach although ethical standards could be lost in the process. From my view, the benefits gained from the economic enhancement could not surpass its drawbacks because no matter how good a living standard, life’s safety will not be ensured if morality is lost.