Nowadays most green energy is becoming evermore prevalent in both developed and developing countries. Some argue they greatly reduce costs and are better for the environment, others believe they are a serious threat to energy security. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Increasing warnings from climate scientists sparked interest for renewable energy sources worldwide. While some people believe that green energy is more economical, as well as environmentally friendly, others state that renewable energy sources are much more threatening to energy security. In this essay, I will explore both sides of this controversial issue before going on to explain why I tend to advocate for environmental benefits of sustainable energy.

Severe weather conditions that populations worldwide have been facing in the past few decades have brought about a climbing demand for alternative energy sources, such as solar panels or wind turbines. Not only do these inventions generate energy in a much more environmentally friendly way, but they also reduce the cost of energy consumption significantly. For example, according to several households interviewed by New York Times last year, upon installing solar panels, their monthly costs declined drastically, as they are no longer required to pay their energy bill. Furthermore, their carbon footprint was lower since they don’t rely on fossil fuels to produce energy. Indeed, the use of eco-friendly energy helps curb greenhouse gas emissions significantly, contributing to creating a much healthier environment for living.

On the other hand, many people fear that sustainable energy sources can significantly threaten energy security we enjoy today. Surely, these clean energy sources are completely reliant on weather conditions and consequently can be greatly affected by major weather changes. For instance, countries like Canada, where weather is predominantly cloudy, cannot be entirely dependent on the energy generated by solar panels, as the latter would fall short of providing all inhabitants with the energy they need. Likewise, wind turbines might not be of much use in extremely warm countries like Spain, where wind gusts are not as strong as they are in northern European countries.

Taking into account both views discussed in the paragraphs above, I contend that both developed and developing countries should install renewable energy sources, even if they are obliged to combine it with fossil-fueled energy sources that have been dominant so far. This way, they will succeed in reducing their carbon footprint on the planet.