Nowadays most green energy is becoming evermore prevalent in both developed and developing countries. Some argue they greatly reduce costs and are better for the environment, others believe they are a serious threat to energy security. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The prevalence of green energy whether in developed and developing countries is nowadays a reality. However, people have different views about that type of electricity production. While some think it can benefit to locals reducing costs of energy, others believe that they are associated with a significant security risk. In my opinion, the first idea is more valuable to justify green energies’ global adoption.

To begin with, it seems obvious that in a long run, sustainable electricity production will preserve the environment and will reduce dependency of communities to fossils energies such as coal, gas and petrol or uranium. For example, using biomass to produce electricity implies to emit tons of carbon dioxide, however the scattered carbon was directly produced by animal and vegetal fermentations and is not coming from underground. As a result, energy is made in a short circuit, not depending of Brent price fluctuations, not adding CO2 to the atmosphere.

On the other hand, considering the continuity in the production of electricity and therefore the stability of the network is a compelling challenge. For instance, smart-grid are based on interdependency of consumptions and productions in neighboring countries. Any cases of fluctuation of the energy injected into the electric network, often correlated with green energy production, can involve malfunctions. Indeed, using of hydroelectric power plants, solar panels or wind turbines generates instabilities as they are climate dependents. Nevertheless, solutions already exist to avoid that kind of issues.

In conclusion, this essay has demonstrated that the risks associated to green energy production are important but manageable. Although it provides certain instabilities, that remains a minor drawback while comparing to the needs of developing countries’ citizens.