Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects at university in many countries. Why is this? What effects does this have on society?

It has become increasingly prevalent for applicants to opt less for science subjects at tertiary education. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors and the problems which have resulted from this phenomenon.

There are two primary reasons as to why many youngsters are not inclined to choose science majors. Firstly, science subjects may be complicated. This could be reinforced by the fact that scientific majors often require intensive and independent study, resulting in those students who rely on structured learning environments may find it difficult to follow. Secondly, this propensity may lead to a lack of a prosperous career. In developing or undeveloped countries, graduates may find it challenging to seek suitable professions, such as astronomers or researchers. This could likely deter them from motivation and engagement. As a result, youngsters are prone to choose less intimidating majors.

There are two major problems that the propensity may put society under enormous negative impact. First and foremost, there may be a shortage of skilled professionals, as fewer students favor choosing to learn science as their major, hampering the growth of the economy, resulting in severe consequences in areas such as the healthcare system where technological advancements are crucial to discover better treatment. Furthermore, the limited number of scientists is prone to impede the growth of the economy. The world has evolved, and there is a need for creative ideas and state-of-the-art technologies, leading to a competent workforce which is an essential driver to boost the economy. Therefore, limited professionals may cause a reduction in the quality of products and services, decreasing demand and profitability, prompting a downturn economy.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that self-study and a lack of career paths are some underlying motives behind this negative tendency, this leads to a limited competent workforce and hampering the economy. These are serious repercussions attributable to this phenomenon.