Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

In recent times, the number of students who prefer to study science subjects in the universities are reducing day by day in many countries. While this topic has raised lots of concern, there might be several reasons behind this phenomenon. In this essay I will discuss the main reasons behind this issue and what impact it may have on society in the long-run.

First of all, many students think science subjects are difficult compared to other areas, and hence simply want to study or pursue easier subjects. Many students also think that studying science subjects might not provide them with enough opportunities or jobs in the current market, and may limit their opportunities professionally. Additionally, there is a lack of qualified and passionate science teachers in many countries. A qualified or passionate teacher can help students build interest in science subjects. On top of all those reasons, another major concern is that the education related to science subjects is costlier than other subjects, so many prefer taking non-science subjects as it is simply a cheaper option.

As more and more students lose interest in science subjects, it can have a devastating impact on our society in the long-run. The number of problems in the modern world require more and more scientific people and approaches. If we do not find enough students studying or interested in science subjects, there will be a huge shortage of technical or science field workers in many countries. It will not only hamper those countries economically but also create a bottle-neck for innovation and growth.

In conclusion, the decline in students choosing science subjects in universities is a major concern in many countries for long-term innovation and growth. While there might be many reasons for this decline in interest, society and governments in all countries should work together to influence more students to pursue study in science related subjects