Nowadays, people are living an increasingly longer life and in many countries there are more old people than young people. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

According to life sequence, individuals’ age-layer is always in a stable state, and this plays a crucial role in individuals’ welfare. Nonetheless, demographic trends show that, in some countries, older people constitute a larger proportion of the population than other generations, and seniors are expected to bring different, both negative and positive, reflections. Although this phenomenon has clear upsides, its possible downsides also need to be highlighted.

Indeed, in some cases, old age has always highly contributed to each field. Firstly, it is accumulated experience and wisdom. In past times, ancestors witnessed numerous challenges and they have more experiences, while youth do not see this in their whole life. Thus, old people can make a profit for our community by sharing their experience with adults and giving guidance to policy, which can advance life wellbeing. As well as stronger social networks, the elderly population is a holder of family bonds, and they can teach about how to make stable relationships.

Nevertheless, like a coin has two sides, it has some negative sides. First of all, is healthcare strains. Old people have more health risks than young people, and this means they have a huge demand for medicine services. As a result, it can create a crowded and fatigued environment for medicine, and it also causes the use of valuable and high-tech tools in vain. Second of all, is workforce shortages. As mentioned, in some territories, the old population is more than the young, while elderly people are not as proactive as adults. Also, it means that careers only require tight stuff. If only old age occupied countries’ workforce, it might blow up countries from financial and political angles.

In conclusion, aging population has both stimulating and minus versions for human lives. It can promote with general and vital experiences and strong social networks. Nonetheless, it has some undeniable negatives, namely medical overtax and lost labor participation.