Nowadays people depend on technology for leisure activities. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that more and more people spend their leisure time on devices these days.This situation has its ow benefits and drawbacks.

On the one hand,there can be many reasons why some people consider depending on technology positive.Firstly,surfing internet or social medias like Instagram,Facebook ,TikTok and others become common online activity.People can easily catch up new trends and up-to-date news,while using these kind of sources.Therefire,lots of people might spend hours scrolling social media platforms.Moreover,internet is the most common way to find some new information and do some home tasks from schools or additional classes.Only having wi-fi people can access to anything they want everywhere.It can be either entertaiment or educational data.For example,someone skipped his lesson and does not undrestand homework.He can learn a new theme by only finding a neccessary video on YouTube.As a result,the modern technology can be useful .

On the other hand,while some people believe in pluses of the internet,I personally think that the cons of this situaton are much more important.First of all,sitting behind monitors all day can damage the human vision.Nowadays,many people pay a big amount of money to eye treatment or operations.Besides,this leads to sedentary lifestyle which cause obesity or other health problems. Furthemore ,not only physial health can be damaged but also mental health.To be more clear,sedentary life can negatively affect on individual’s social life.For instance, some people chat with their relatives or friends only online without any face-to-face meetings.It can bring to dependence of devices.Consequently,technology is not always has good points.

To sum up,although people consider that devices brings a lot of benefits to society,in my opinion the disadvantages of it outweigh advantages.