Nowadays people depend on technology for leisure activities. Is this a positive or negative development?

As technology advances, people are becoming more dependent on it for recreation. This essay will argue that the disadvantages are eclipsed by the advantages.

To begin with, the use of technology for leisure activities can be disadvantageous in many ways. The most important of which is blurred vision caused by staring for hours non-stop at a computer screen. This is due to blue light emitted from them. For instance, office workers tend to have worse vision than the general population. However, the effects can be mitigated if people keep their screen time in check.

Therefore, I believe entertainment via the Internet is far more advantageous. Two advantages are a wider variety of games to indulge in and puzzles to develop the minds. Regarding the former, as contents on the web are user generated thus having more genres to choose from. As a result, this makes it less boring as compared to real time leisure activities. Moreover, people can acknowledge new things while their time exploring the world of technology. For example, YouTube offers a wide range of videos for the audience to pick thus enhancing the experience of users. Concerning the latter, brain teasers can be a massive help to the people that play it, often claiming that they had improved memories and critical thinking skills. A good example of this is, games that involve strategy like online adaptations of table top games.