Nowadays people have expectations to get things instantly (news, products, services) and do not want to wait. Why? Positive or negative development?

The patience of the modern era’s citizens has been shortened, owing to their capacity to obtain the object of their desire almost instantaneously. This essay argues that this development is entirely negative, as human’s persistence and creativity would deteriorate.

Without the discipline to wait, future innovations would not become a reality. This is because no one would endeavor to acquire a university education, given that it requires 4 years of dedication and diligence. Consequently, the stagnation of society would be inevitable, which is the result of an inability to delay gratification. To illustrate this argument, consider the prevalence of adolescents aspiring to become internet influencers, avoiding the long and grueling academic and professional journey. Therefore, if the inhabitants of today’s world are no longer capable of being patient, the progress of human civilization would be decelerated or, worse yet, halted entirely.

With the advent of the internet and smartphones, the need for entertainment is always immediately satiated, eliminating the boredome within people’s lives. This feeling, regardless of its unpleasent nature, is integral to human’s evolution, as it encourages creativity and innovation. Take Pythogoras, for instance, the person who had an epiphany that profoundly impacted mathematics during a mundane activity. Therefore, if individuals are always stimulated by unconsequential pieces of entertainment, it would leave no space for pondering or solving the universe’s mysteries.

In conclusion, acquiring what is desired in an instant is detrimental to society, because it has the potential to impede the advancement of the human race and stifle our creativity.