Nowadays, people in some countries can choose to live and work anywhere they want because of the improvement of the transportation and communication technologies. Discuss the benefits and the drawbacks of the phenomenon.

Gone are the days when people spend their whole life living and working in one place. With the rapid innovation of vehicles and communication equipment, people today are given more opportunities to travel and interaction. This essay will examine both pros and cons of this trend which it has brought to individuals and the society.

To begin with, people’s overall life and work quality have been enhanced. For one thing, being easily to travel to other cities and countries enables one to seek for more well-paid careers. Receiving higher salaries certainly indicates improvements in individuals’ well-being, such as delicate clothing and various downtime activities. Besides, frequent travelling allows one to personally experience foreign cultures and enjoy breathtaking landscapes, which undeniably skyrockets one’s comprehensive qualities. For another thing, modern communication technologies offer convenience for a person to get in touch with his or her families, friends and clients without worrying the delay of time and the distance of space. Cross country interviews and conferences are no longer a ‘luxury’ which used to be available to a minor fraction of population. An office worker in Beijing is able to contact with his cooperators in NYC on Zoom, discussing details of the product. As a result, one is given a bigger stage to perform one’s talent, being more likely to achieve higher goals in the work field.

On the other hand, such convenience in life comes with a cost. Environment issues, cause by human industrial activities and development, have become more and more pressing, threatening all lives of all creatures on Earth. For example, influx of visitors to the Coral Reefs in Australia which used to bring thousands of dollars to the country, has now turning the Mecca a poor victim. While sports activities like yacht and diving sports color people’s holiday, the pollution of burning fuel, combined with the increasing carbon foot print, damage the ocean ecosystem, causing death of corals and other species underwater. This is just a corner of an iceberg-the entire Earth is suffering. Such negative impact is inevitable unless pausing all human development.

In conclusion, human beings benefit a lot from modern transportation and communication technologies, in terms of personal growth and job promotion. Nevertheless, huge vicious damage still harms the environment where we live. Hence, in my point of view, what we can do is to find the balance that maximize the profits while minimize the backlash.