Nowadays some consumers are less influenced by advertising than in the past. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

According to researches, these days, commercial advertisements are failing to grab consumer’s attention compared to past. While this development is driven by certain reasons, I firmly contend that being less influenced by advertising is largely positive, as it empowers consumers, despite posing challenges for advertisers.

To start with, people’s increased advertising literacy is the primary reason. In comparison to the past, individuals have constantly exposed to the influential advertisements for a long time, as online platforms and the mass media are bombarded with advertisements. This exposure to regular advertisings has already enabled them to be more aware of persuasive techniques such as emotional manipulation, influencer marketing, and targeted ads. This heightened awareness, in turn, not only does it make people less likely to be persuaded, but also desensitized to marketing messages. Beyond that, trust has shifted from brands to users. These days, peer recommendations, price-comparison websites and online reviews has become a base for evaluating multiple options before making informed purchasing decisions. Therefore, people often try to search someone who can offer wise recommendations when they feel the need to purchase clothes or other products within a brief period.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that this development is a double-edged sword that brings both benefits and further challenges. First and foremost, being less influenced by marketing messages is mainly advantageous, as it not only does encourage companies to improve product quality rather than relying on hype, but also reduce the risk of impulse buying. This is mainly because, nowadays, there is a common belief among people that products advertised online or through other media do not offer good value for money. However, potential challenges should not be overlooked. For instance, widespread indifference towards advertising might contribute to the failure of smaller or new businesses thar are left out of visibility. Nevertheless, some advertisements are genuinely useful, for example promotions of drugs which always inform consumers about key steps they should consider before purchasing them. But, dismissions of such advertisements might lead to taking pills without any medical supervision.

In conclusion, although increased advertising literacy and greater access to independent information are main reasons for people’s less likelihood of being influenced, this development is double-edged sword, presenting both positives, such as enhanced product quality and reduced impulse buying as well as potential problems of company’s failures and indifference of genuine vital advertisings.