Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it positive or negative development?

In this modern era, bachelor’s degree onwards becomes the superior criterion in recruitment process in some companies than life experience and qualities of each individual. This essay is to pinpoint both the advantages and disadvantages to this development before concluding how it is negative.

Admittedly, the benefit attached to the prevalence of formal education are definite. First and foremost, universities equipped their students the fundamental knowledge of the field they are majoring. Besides, during academic years, students have experienced team-working tasks, case studies or mini projects, which could help those to fit right in a new working environment in a short time without being confused and bewildered. Furthermore, some employers suppose that potential employees who got educated from the more prestigious schools, the more they excel at work, which takes recruiters less time to train them and would bring companies the more benefits in the future.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned benefits associated with tertiary education, I am convinced that they are eclipsed by the following drawbacks. First, whilst theoretical background has been provided during academic courses, life experience gives us more practical awareness which is far more flexible, sophisticated and unpredictable. Those characters, we all grasp, are crucial to experience for better performance. Furthermore, there is no relation between formal educating and a suitable employee of a company as we need to concern their qualities for instance morality, honesty, loyalty, etc. for a long-term benefit, those characteristics should be put on more favouritism.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the fact that academic qualifications provide students basic knowledge of the field they are following, I still believe that the drawbacks of it, being applied in practice and no relation to inside qualities should be under consideration.