Nowadays some older people choose to live in retirement communities and centres with other people, rather than living with their adult children. Is this a positive or negative development?

In some nations, elderly individuals prefer to live in retirement households with other older people rather than living with their adult children. I believe this would be a positive development because of the good quality care they will receive at those houses, with the advantage of maintaining their mental health by staying there.

To begin with, as well as people getting older, they demand special care in different aspects, which requires a continuous follow-up. In other words, they will need assistance in memorizing basic things, such as their medications or having a shower. So, when they are assigned to a retirement community, they will have the maximum quality care with specialized nurses to help them maintain their well-being. For example, retirement houses are full of people with Alzheimer’s disease, and many of these people’s families prefer to send them to these communities to ensure they will take care of their parents.

Furthermore, these houses provide a priceless service to elderly people, which is having a company of the same age. When they see their peers with the same situation, they will feel more comfortable, safer because they are sharing the exact situation. That is to say, the mental impact of having a company would undoubtedly boost their mood and reduce anxiety. For instance, many older people suffer from loneliness, because everyone is busy with their lives, even their children would not have a proper time to spend it with their old parents. As a result, these communities will offer them a clear, active atmosphere, and that would reflect on their mental well-being.

In conclusion, I believe retirement houses could have a positive impact on older people’s lives, by maintaing their needs, assisting them in day-to-day tasks, and the company in these houses would reduce their feeling of loneliness.