Nowadays some older people choose to live in retirement communities and centres with other people, rather than living with their adult children. Is this a positive or negative development?

Individuals in any society work lifelong after graduating with a realisation that one day this phase will also end, when there would be no more requirement to leave home as early as to reach the office on time and there wouldn’t be pressure to complete tasks and meet deadlines. The day when a person is relieved from all his responsibilities with recognition of his efforts is known as the retirement day. This essay reveals the fact that now a days, people choose to live in retirement communities and centers with other people, rather than living with their adult children. Soon after getting retired they may start to feel like they are now leading life without any purpose. For most of the people this is emotionally the weakest time in their lives. So at that time they need someone who may have time to sit with them to listen what’s in their heart. You may also have heard that in western world people after getting retired hire others so that they can talk to them as they are lonely.

Every decision has it’s own pros and cons. Thus the one who raised his children like an asset also want to be with their kids after retirement but circumstances decide whether it is better to live in loneliness or find someone who belongs to your community. Indeed anyone who is being cherished, protected, loved and pampered like a child even after retirement by their family members would never decide to go to retirement communities. If this is the situation everyone wants to live the last days of his life with his loved ones instead of living with those whom are really not known to each other.

On the other extreme, if people come to realise that their family has started treating them like a burden soon after their retirement and they want to either get rid of that burden or intended to shift that burden on other’s shoulders, then instead of living there with those who don’t have space in their heart for their retired parents, it’s quite reasonable to live in retirement communicate with like minded individuals. If so is the case, then all the members in the community had already gone through almost same circumstances, they may become source of contentment for each other. They don’t feel pity for themselves knowing that there are lot many other individuals in the society who went through same pain.

So as far as my opinion is concerned, I would conclude this by saying that living in retirement communities in itself is neither positive nor negative trend. If circumstances are such that you would have to sacrifice even your little desires in order to fit with those who don’t need you anymore, better decision is to go to retirement community where you want have to hire others to listen what’s in your heart and everyone there would have same story like yours. In contrast, if on the day of retirement your loved ones treat you like you have made the biggest achievement in life and they welcome you and accept you whole heartedly, nothing is better than that to die in those whom you have birth to and they considered you as treasure in their lives.