Nowadays some older people choose to live in retirement communities with other people, rather than living with their adult children. Is it a positive or negative development?

In some cultures, there is a trend that elder people are tending to live in retirement communities with other peers, instead of staying with their mature children. In my opinion, the merits of this trend outweigh its disadvantages.

On the one hand, elderly living in retirement communities brings several merits. Firstly, elderly leaving their their grown children can make these youngsters more independent. For example, nowadays, there are many young people are staying at home all day, reluntant to find a job, because they can live on their parents’ pension. If their parents left the house, young people will have carry the domestic economic burden, then go to work, pay all the utility bills, food and etc. Secondly, peers in retirement communities can keep each other company, have fun together and even look after one another, while they might get bored if they stayed with their kids. Last but not least, it will also give young people more spaces and freedom, young people would be restricted if their parents lived in the same house, as they would need to worry about their whereabouts and safety.

On the other hand, however, old people leaving the house also brings some drawbacks to both parties. For elderly themselves, settling down in a new place would take much effort to fit in, they will have to get accustomed to new environment, new food and new neighbors, they might also get lonely if they could not get along with their new friends. Furthermore, elderly usually have more experience in life compared with youngsters, so if young people got into trouble and their parents were not around to give them advice, they might got stuck in life for a long time. In addition, while elder people are around, they can take care their grandchildren when their grown children are working, instead of having the need to hire a babysitter.

In conclusion, there are pros and cons for elderly leaving their grown children and moving in retirement communities. But I believe the benefits outshine its drawbacks.