Nowadays, some say that smoking in the public areas is forbidden in several nations. I totally agree with this statement due to health issues and air pollution.

On the one hand, some nations start to ban the smoking activity in the public spaces because of health issues. This is because in the cigarettes contain of harmful chemical substances such as nicotine and tar. This happens when people inhale the cigarettes’ smoke continuously, resulting in triggering the dangerous disease like cancer and TBC (Tuberculosis). For example, in 2024, Ministry of Health of Indonesia announced that the mortality rate signified a significant rise by 5% annually caused by smoking habits, and this leads to lungs cancer. As the impact, the government create the regulation in order to control the cigarettes distribution.

On the other hand, the reason why the countries disallow smoking activity in the public is air pollution. That is to say, the smoke from the people’s cigarettes spread into the air, increasing the number of pollutants. By smoking at the same time, people tend to generate a lot of toxic materials that declining the air quality. For instance, the authorities in Jakarta mentioned that the air quality decreased by 2% in 2024, which the smokers became a contributor instead of pollution from the transportation. Hence, people should be educated about the sustainable environment.

In conclusion, health issues and air pollution could be the reasons why several countries ban the smoking activity in the public areas. If possible, the authorities should provide smoking area in the specific place with a strict regulation.