"Nowadays, there are a large number of coffee shops and fast-food vendors on high streets and in town centres." Why are there so many of these outlets? What effect is this having on the society?

In recent years, there has been an increase in coffee and fast-food chains, especially in high stress and city centers. This could to due to various reasons, one of them could be lack of time with the ongoing busy schedule of the working professionals. It may impact society.

Firstly, the sudden surge of these coffee shops is due to the growing preference towards aesthetics and ambience. Coffee as an entity is considered luxury, this opened a business of coffee shops. Where people spend time and chat with their friends. Others just find it a calm place to complete their tasks, mainly work related.

Secondly, the fast-food vendors saw an opportunity to fit in between the working class. With the performance demand at workplaces which lead to a decrease in time for a healthy lifestyle, that is time consuming. The gap is covered by fast food chains which not only provides food but also reduces the time spent on meals during the day. Consequently, leading to a rise in fast food chains near workplaces.

On the other hand, this may have adverse effects on the citizens. Coffee is considered addictive, while fast food chains are unhealthy and mostly frozen foods. These have health issue like insomnia with consumption of coffee on regular bases. And fast foods contain a huge amount of fat and cholesterol which indirectly increases the risk of heart disease in the long run.

To conclude, with industrialization coffee shops and fast-food chains increase drastically as it offers food on time and a place to work as well as leisure. However, this could cause deterioration in health, if not immediately but in the future.