Nowadays , there are a large number of coffeee shops and fast food vendors on high street and in town centres. Why are there so many of these outlets? What effects is this having on the society

It has now become quite common to spot a number of coffee shops and fast-food vendors on high streets and in town centers. One can attribute this to the growing number of people visiting the high streets and town centers for varied interests. Hence, more customers are drastically available for the food joints. This has led to multiple effects on society, mainly in increasing the obesity rate among young adults and generating an addiction in children for outside food.

Food businesses have always prospered in places where there are high amounts of people visiting. This leads to a greater chance of attracting a customer to the stall. It not only helps to keep the excess inventory down but also reduces costs for advertising. Thus, it ensures higher collection of revenue and profits. For example, a recent study has concluded that the shops which are located in crowded areas are able to do business on a much larger scale than those present elsewhere. What is good for the shopkeeper behind the counter may not be as good for the people at the front of the counter. The easy availability of junk food while being outside the house has caused a drastic increase in the rates of obesity in young adults. Not only that, but even children are getting attracted to the food they should avoid. Eventually it becomes a habit from which release is impossible. Like someone who eats outside every now and then may develop a dislike for healthier cuisine in future.

To conclude, presence of customers anywhere in the world will always be associated with a much larger commercial atmosphere. It’s true specifically for the establishments retailing food items. On the contrary, adults must avoid such places to preserve their physique and keep a tab on their children’s eating habits. This will surely help to reduce problems in the future.