Nowadays, there are large number of coffee shops and fast-food vendors on high streets and in town centers. Why are these so many of these outlets? What effects is this having on the society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many choose to have a quick bite over a chat on a street rather than having a homely meal, resulting in high demand to have more fast-food centers and coffee shops in their locality. Vendors come up with new outlets in each locality to fulfill the demand, who wouldn’t want to earn extra income with minimal investment? In doing so, various ingredients hazardous to health might be used to prepare a low cost meal to generate high revenue.

Firstly, with the surge in demand for fast-food and coffee shops, the number of shops increase in high receptive areas such as town centers and high streets, which in turn causes increased traffic in well-equipped roads. In addition, with careless vendors and customers who are not mindful about environmental hygiene tend to litter waste on the streets or the footpath. Majestic, for instance, being the center of Bengaluru, attracts more such high street fast-food joints and coffee stalls, making a mess out of the street with the waste and uncontrollable traffic to pass by.

Furthermore, individuals who prefer eating fast-food would be prone to disease because of the unhygienic food preparation and lack of proteins or vitamins in their diet. Such people grow in a unhealthy life style, feeling bored and not being productive day in and day out. On the other hand, people preferring coffee usually spend their time talking to others or some prefer smoking along with it which can be dangerous to the health and society. Youngsters working in IT firms run short on time and prefer to eat quick bites on their way, and sense a prolonged procrastination in their work environment.

In conclusion, although consuming fast-food and coffee once in a while would not affect an individual by a large degree. Vast majority of the population must learn to incorporate a healthy diet and lifestyle to lead a smooth life, which in turn could reduce the number of outlets and the problems faced by them.