Nowadays, there is more and more competition for getting into university. Is this a positive or negative development?

University admission is becoming increasingly competitive. In my opinion, this development is a positive one that can help people to stay motivated and develop valuable qualities. However, sometimes this escalated competition can impact these people’s overall health.

One benefit of this competition is that this can act as motivation for young people. That is, this competition encourages people to excel academically, take part in extracurricular activities and engage in community service, so that they can enhance their chance of acceptance. In fact, students who show these, say, in their motivational letters have an advantage over their peers who do not, helping them to be accepted by their dream university despite the escalated competition.

Furthermore, these people will also develop qualities that can help them succeed in many areas of their lives. As these people realize that entering the university is now very competitive, they need to outshine their peers. In order to do this, they need to ignore many distractions, such as going to parties, playing video games and other meaningless activities. Resisting the urge to engage in these activities helps them become more self-disciplined and determined, valuable qualities everyone needs to thrive not only academically, but they can also rely on these qualities in personal and professional areas of their lives.

However, some people argue that the increasingly intense competition can negatively impact young people, exposing them to different health problems. This is because in order to get into university, people study very hard and tend to ignore activities they need to look after their health. They, for instance, might not want to make time for regular exercise, follow a healthy diet or get enough sleep at night. These all will likely take a toll on their health in the long run.

In conclusion, the competition for university admission is becoming increasingly challenging, but I firmly believe this should not be considered as a negative development. In fact, competition of this kind motivates people to push themselves beyond their academic abilities and build valuable qualities. However, they should be encouraged to maintain a balance between academic pursuits and heath.