Nowadays, young people communicate with friends and family through mostly social network sites, rather than other ways of communication like talking on the phone or face to face. Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give some reason for your answer.

Communication is an essential part of everyday life to interact with people. In the modern world, social media plays a vital role in this part. Many people contend that most young people prefer to talk with their loved ones through social media rather than communicate with them physically, which has become increasingly common. This development has a largely negative side because of the loss of social interaction with other people and the weakening of real-life communication skills. This essay will address the overall negative development.

One major problematic development is the weakening of communication skills. The reason for this is that young people mostly rely on social media like Instagram, Facebook, and TikTok. They always express their emotions through text messages, including emojis, instead of real conversation. For instance, in the real world, family members sit in the same living room while communicating through different apps rather than having conversations with each other. In this way, it is clear that this leads to an effect on social bonds and personal relationships.

On the other hand, another key negative trend is the poor quality of relationships. This leads to misunderstandings, and friendships become less emotionally supportive and meaningful. Moreover, teenagers are excessively reliant on social networking sites these days. For example, people are less likely to meet in person, while they are maintaining relationships only through text messages, phone calls, and also liking their photos in social media. Thus, it is evident that young people do not interact with other individuals in a friendly manner.

To sum up, it is clear that the increasing preference of young individuals for social networking rather than direct forms of communication is a negative development as it weakens face-to-face social interaction and damages communication skills with their family and loved ones. In general, it can be said that social media platforms offer speed and convenience; nevertheless, they cannot replace the emotional depth and real-world communication.