obesity is now a major global epidemic. what can be done to tackle this increasingly common problem

With the shifts in consuming habits and recreational preferences, it has become increasingly common for individuals, irrespective of their age, to become obese, particularly in urban areas. While this issue has gained traction all over the world, I believe that governmental interventions, combined with individual initiatives play a crucial role while overcoming this problem.

There are several steps which can be taken on governmental level in order to reduce the rate of people experiencing obesity. By implementing heavy taxes on fast food as well as fizzy drinks government ensures that citizens can not afford to purchase processed food or convenience meals on a daily basis.Furthermore, through subsidizing money to promote fresh fruits and vegetables local authorities turn attention of residents to cook permanently, while simultaneously assist to dwindle the number of overweight people. This in turn fosters the idea of leading healthy lifestyle with meals rich in vitamins.Additionally, another rationale behind obesity revolves around sedentary lifestyle in both home and workplace. With the provision of many sport complexes the government might succeed in raising public awareness towards more active life, thus inhibiting dormant lifestyle.

Additional changes are needed at grassroots level.Individuals who want to avoid obesity need to assume accountability for making health-oriented lifestyle choices. This can be accomplished be adopting regular exercise routines, conducting research on nutritional guidelines, steering clear of unhealthy food options like junk food and sugary drinks and taking part in everyday activities that get them moving. Tn the absence of such health-conscious lifestyle choices, laws and regulations, are unlikely to bring positive public health outcome, especially in reducing obese people.

In conclusion, although being overweight has reached epidemic proportions, I believe it can be solved by the confluence of governmental and individual actions. Only through raising public awareness and health-conscious lifestyles can we make progress in defeating obesity.