oday news plays a crucial role in people's lives and more significantly influences people than before. Why is this case? It is a positive or negative development?

Compared to the past, today’s news affects people significantly, playing a pivotal role in their lives. While this effect is largely due to digital transformation, especially the addiction to social media platforms and globalization, it is a rather negative trend with mental health implications.

Thanks to the birth of the Internet, which dates back to the 20th century, it became more straightforward to spread news of any type via messaging online. Nowadays, the main reason news is influential in people’s lives is social media platforms. With advanced online chatting platforms, where one can share their opinion, video content and experiences, such as Facebook and X(whose previous name was Twitter), people now have greater access to up-to-date news, and we can be aware of breaking news happening across the world 24/7. This, in turn, makes people more concerned about some issues they saw on the news. In addition, increased political polarization. As political divisions have deepened in many societies, the news became a battleground for different ideologies, which led people to seek information supporting their arguments or beliefs. Put simply, if there is a shift in the attitude of a particular political party towards some regulations, for example, that party’s politics are usually in the public eye, which benefits them as this trend can grab million’s attention.

The influential news in people’s lives could have several negative aspects. Bombarded with much amount of information, people may also easily trust news that is not credible because of what is known as misformation, false or misleading information often propagated. As a result, people could be the victim of fraud in most cases, or they can even be exploited unconsciously. For instance, there are criminals(often known as hackers) who usually send messages to people, ordering them to pay for a certain credit card to join in a winning game. Having gotten money from the public, fraudsters then simply reply to people with the news about losing the game. Moreover, different information can also make people mentally ill for some reasons. While seeing or reading news, more violent and sensitive ones, in particular, people’s anxiety levels increase, causing a sense of depression. After this, they become more distracted, losing their focus on more essential elements of their lives, including work and study, eventually leading to a lower level of productivity, also a root cause of failure in the long run. This shows how news might have adverse impacts on people’s lives.

In conclusion, the influence of news on people’s lives is undeniably vital. Although it might be considered a positive effect to some extent, this trend is a negative development with potential harm to human health and misinformation.