One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

A vast majority of urban areas are challenged with the issue of traffic jams. This phenomenon occurs due to rush hour traffic, which can be reduced by the introduction of a park-and-ride system.

It should be considered that urban traffic congestion is caused by an excessive number of vehicles on the roads. To contextualize, a large percentage of commuters still prefer driving to work, instead of traveling to the office on public transport. As recent studies show, private cars account for 80 percent of all vehicles stuck in a typical traffic queue. Thus, their proportion is an important factor contributing to heavy traffic.

To address this problem, a city council might consider setting up park-and-ride schemes. It is important to develop new and extend existing car parks on the outskirts of the city to make this solution effective. In this way, commuters are encouraged to leave their vehicles in a multi-storey car park and take a bus or train to travel to work. The results of this have proven convincing in most European metropolises. Amsterdam, for example, has overcome the issue of heavy traffic by successfully encouraging its residents to give up commuting to the city center by car.

In conclusion, the alarming problem of traffic congestion caused by city-dwellers driving to work can be tackled by the set-up of a new park-and-ride infrastructure. This is what I would recommend to the local authorities concerned about traffic obstacles in their cities.