One result of advances in medical care is that life expectancy has increased around the world. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Advancements in the field of science have made life easier for everyone. However, every coin has two sides.

Treatments are now available for diseases like cancer and diabetes that were earlier thought to be incurable or life-threatening. These treatments now allow humans to live longer and better lives. As a result, the average life expectancy has been increased across the globe. This is a major advantage of these developments. But on other side, this has caused a significant increase in the global population.

The demand and pressure on resources has increased. Due to economic disparity, the availability of resources and facilities is lop-sided where rich have access to a large pool of resources whereas underprivileged classes are deprived of them. Both these sects have populations comprising of youth and oldage. Here another problem arises. If the economic status of younger generation is not high then their access to these resources become limited.

The increase in life expectancy has impacted economies of countries around the world. China is experiencing a population crisis where the population of younger generation is decreasing and the number people in the older generation are more. As a result, China which was once a global provider of services and goods in different countries is now starting to lag.