Organised tours to remote areas are becoming more and more popular. Do you think this is an advantage or disadvantage to the local people, and the environment?

Over the past few years, with increasing urban issues and the awareness about the environment, there is a growing prevalence of organised trips to remote areas and communities. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this development.

On the one hand, there are several substantial benefits of trips to local individuals, one of which is increasing income. In particular, local residents can invest greater financial resources in hotels, road networks, and public facilities for the sake of introducing and improving tourism services such as hospitality or restaurants. As a consequence, they may gain large venues and it is a major contributor to the sustainable development of the local community. Another obvious reason is that technological innovations may be effective approaches to the natural environment. In contemporary society, there are a multitude of up-to-date technologies such as solar panels or environmentally friendly materials, which can offer positive impacts on preserving the ecosystem and mitigating adverse consequences of the climate crisis. Overall, these package trips to remote areas may create a positive trend towards communities and the natural environments, especially among the younger generation.

On the other hand, disrupting local culture may be the most consider demerit. Local residents may have fully access to modern devices or contemporary trend, which means that they are unable to preserve and ensure their traditional customs, festivals, and history, leading to the loss of identity. Additionally, the negative consequences on the surrounding environment are becoming an alarming concern. In some cases, poor organised trips have led to overtourists which may be harmful to the natural environment, as it exacerbates the natural destruction, pollutants, and loss of habitat.

In conclusion, the advantages and disadvantages of guided trips are both essential for the local communities and environment. However, it is necessary for governments and individuals to implement several management strategies to every specific destination.