Organised tours to remote areas are becoming more and more popular. Do you think this is an advantage or disadvantage to the local people, and the environment?

More and more people nowadays tend to travel to areas that are quite far from the city centers. In my personal opinion, this is a huge benefit to the people living in those places and the environment there as well.

Organised tours to those areas have some advantages, and they will be discussed in this paragraph. When many people come and visit a remote region, that area is likely to boost its economic growth. To be more specific, the fact that visitors spend a large sum of money on services, transportation, food, and beverage, etc. will contribute to the overall budget of that area and possibly make it more prosperous. For example, Long Beach island, which is located 500 kilometers to the East of Canada, welcomes approximately a hundred thousand tourists annually. Visitors usually stay on the island for a week and pay for the cuisine of the region, souvenirs for their friends after the trip during their stay here. After the peak vacation, around a millions of dollars is spent by tourists and collected by the government.

In terms of benefit to the environment, organized tours have a few advantages to mention. These tours often include some teams of volunteers who are responsible for cleaning and protecting the environment in the area, which perhaps addresses the environmental issues in that region. For instance, a team of Vietnamese volunteer students paid a visit to Dublin regional area last year, and they were reported to collaborate with the local people to clean up everything including trash, rubbish, wasted food, etc. within two weeks. Organised trips to remote areas in order to save the environment there is now becoming popular.

In conclusion, remote areas are now becoming more and more popular to organized trips, which can bring many benefits to both the environment and local people there.