Some people believe that the rapid increase in population these days is unsustainable and will eventually lead to a global crisis. Others believe that the world population increase is necessary and beneficial as it creates the growth of the world's economy and society. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In contemporary society, divergent beliefs exist whether rapid population growth is crucial and advantageous or will only aggravate an existing problem of overpopulation. While some suppose that it will essentially lead to abundance of problems, others are convinced that it will be beneficial, since it is important for economic growth. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and present a personal outlook.

Many people opine that sudden surge in world population will create abundance of issues such as fresh water, food and other resources, such as oil and natural gas, shortages. According to the majority of scientists, Earth can supply the materials and cope with waste from 8-12 billion people. A significant increase in population would lead to world-wide starvation and shortage in supplies, since current population is slightly over 8 billion. Furthermore, a spike in global population would result in the larger emission of various pollutants such as CO2, plastics and other non-biodegradable waste. This would eventually lead to catastrophic consequences including melting ice caps, irreversible climate change and natural disasters.

Conversely, others believe that population growth is unavoidable and obligatory to maintain growth in global economy and society. Low birth rates in developed countries result in ever-growing number of seniors and an aging society. This creates issues including a shortage in labour force and is believed to put a burden on younger generations in the near future. Proponents argue that an increase in population would solve problems regarding aging society and scarce work force.

In conclusion, while both outlooks offer compelling arguments, I am inclined to believe that major increase in population will result in abundance of difficulties and lead to a global crisis.