Organizing tours to remote regions and rural communities is becoming increasingly popular. Is this trend beneficial or harmful to local residents and their surroundings?

In contemporary life, there are more and more organizing tours to remote regions and countrysides. There are many debates about its advantages or whether this trend brings potential disadvantages to local inhabitants. In my opinion, I believe that it brings more good than harm and my essay below will explain why travelling in rural areas should be promoted.

On one hand, we cannot deny that there are several drawbacks when developing tourism in the countryside. Firstly, one of the most notable consequences can be environmental pollution. Indeed, when travelling in remote regions, many people have bad behaviors to the environment and they are not even aware of the result that they cause. For instance, in Viet Nam, visiting rural areas or remote regions like mountains has become popular during 2022. As a result, the natural ecosystem has been seriously polluted, consequently, the beauty of nature is degrading. In addition, if the number of tourists to rural areas continues to rise, the environmental degradation can be increasingly critical. Thereby, it might disturb wildlife and cause the lack of places to live for various animals. Moreover, tourists can contribute to waste, air, and water pollution in areas at a large scale, hence, energy resources by tourists can strain the local supply, impacting residents.

On the other hand, the growth of organizing tours to remote regions might offer some certain benefits for the locals. First of all, it is a fact that tourism brings significant incomes for local communities. In particular, in Viet Nam, many rural areas have been facing economic crisis after Covid-19 epidemic. However, until people tend to travel to rural areas or remote regions, the economy here has recovered and increased dramatically. This trend can also promote the local culture to the outside world and raise people’s awareness about it. Therefore, local residents can improve facilities and build more amenities, which help people have a better living standard. Moreover, tourism revenue can support environmental conservation efforts, such as wildlife protection or reforestation.

In conclusion, while promoting tourism in rural areas or mountainous regions can lead to negative consequences, I am of the opinion that the advantages of this phenomenon are outweigh its disadvantages, as it boosts the economy and helps local individuals have a better living condition.