Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to alter our character traits to what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that it is impossible to change a person’s personalities as they are determined by their genetics. Personally, I partially agree with this opinion and I will elaborate on both in the following.

On the one hand, personalities are indeed of a genetic attribute. That is to say that a person’s characteristics are largely controlled by his DNAs which directly affect his behaviors and thoughts. In this case, although one can attempt to change some external factors such as their mindsets and the environment in which they reside, it is unlikely to alter them significantly. For instance, it would be extremely difficult for a shy person to train himself to be an outstanding orator since that he does not possess the natural instinct to be talkative and interactive with the crowd.

On the other hand, people’s personalities might be changed under certain conditions. This is because through systematic trainings and practices, some people are able to transform their personalities thoroughly. As many psychologists suggest, human brains are highly plastic especially for adolescents and young adults. For this reason, if youngsters apply scientific methods to training themselves, it is highly likely to change their personalities. A great example of this would be Michael Jordan, who was an introvert back in high school basketball team. Nevertheless, he deliberately trained himself to overcome the shortcomings in his characteristics and became a confident team leader in the NBA.

To conclude, despite that personalities are mostly inherent due to their genetics, it is possible however, to alter your personal traits especially in early ages given scientific training.